It was Jeonbuk Hyundai’s Gustavo, who led the way with a hat trick (four goals), that prevented a ‘Korean version of the Calais miracle’.

Jeonbuk won 5-2 in extra time against Paju City Football Club (K3 League) in the fourth round (Round of 16) of the 2023 Hana OneQ FA Cup at Jeonju World Cup Stadium on Thursday afternoon.

In the 29th minute, Jeonbuk Gustavo opened the scoring with a right-footed goal. Four minutes later, Kwak Rae-seung of Paju Min Football Club equalized, but four minutes later, Gustavo scored his first of many right-footed goals. Song Min-gyu gave the ball away in front of the goal and Gustavo finished it off.

The desperate Paju Min Football Club scored again in the 13th minute of the second half through Sung Jeong-yoon to extend the game.메이저사이트

It was a tense moment as the only K3 League club to win could pull off a Korean version of the Calais miracle. Gustavo was having none of it. He completed his hat-trick with a header in the 13th minute of extra time. This time, he didn’t miss Song Min-gyu’s cross from the right.

Five minutes into the second half of extra time, Jeonbuk sealed the win with Park Jin-seop’s fourth goal, and four minutes later, Gustavo completed his hat trick, this time with a left-footed shot. In the end, Jeonbuk had a big smile on their face in extra time and punched their ticket to the quarterfinals of the FA Cup for the second consecutive season.

The other round of 16 matches, held at the same time, were both won by K League 1 teams. Incheon United defeated Gyeongnam FC (K League 2) 3-0, while Gangwon FC defeated Gimpo FC (K League 2) 3-2. Pohang Steelers defeated Seongnam FC (K League 2) 3-0 and Gwangju FC defeated Seoul Eland (K League 2) 1-0. Ulsan Hyundai won 2-1 in overtime against the Jeonnam Dragons (K League 2).

In the head-to-head matchup of K League 1 teams, Jeju United and Suwon Samsung had the laughs. Jeju defeated Daejeon Hana Citizen 4 to 3. Suwon defeated Daegu FC 1-0.

The fifth round (quarterfinals) will be held next month on March 28 at 7 p.m. at the same time. The brackets are Ulsan-Jeju, Jeonbuk-Gwangju, Incheon-Suwon, and Pohang-Gangwon.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *